Different

Posted on June 24, 2012

2


do your own thing

This is eerie.

I stumbled across a new poem called “Withholding” the other day thanks to East Cost Elegance. I adore it for it’s unabashed ferocity and passion. It got me thinking about one of my favorite books…Poem a Day (edited by Karen McCosker & Nicholas Albery). Many years ago when I was living in NYC a good friend bought this book for me. It was a great gift and it has remained with me through every move, always in one of the priority boxes so as not to get lost.

Well, I hadn’t gotten it out for awhile so I decided to pull it out this morning and was blown away by the poem for June 24. What do you think it was about? I’ll give you three guesses.

Love?

No.

Birds?

No.

Being different?

Ding! Ding! Ding!

Without further ado. Please enjoy….

Different
by Clere Parsons

Not to say what everyone else was saying
not to believe what everyone else believed
not to do what everybody did,
then to refute what everyone else was saying
then to disprove what everyone else believed
then to deprecate what everybody did,

was his way to come by understanding

how everyone else was saying the same as he was saying
believing what he believed
and did what doing.

Posted in: friendship, home